Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Freeboarding in the Skatepark

Gooner

Freeboarding in the Skatepark

Hey everyone,

let me first of all start off by saying that I'm new to freeboarding. Bought one after I was instantly hooked to snowboarding after my first wintersport a few weeks ago
    Unfortunately there are not a lot of hills (like no real hills at all) in the Netherlands. That is why I'm usually taking my freeboard to the skatepark.
    Does anyone else ride their freeboard at the skatepark, and do you guys have tips for the board setup or on dropping into a quarter/half pipe?

Sup sup!

Unfortunately I gotta say, Skatepark riding is darn tough to start off freebording with. Curved ramps are not so friendly to our trucks, its hard to describe, Yes, it is possible but tough. Coming up to one you gotta nail the ramp straight on, hop, and 180 back down. To drop in, start 50-50 on the coping and hop down into the ramp.

I'd suggest trying both, dropping in and riding up/down, on the flat ramps first.

Either way, ramps are tough to deal with because of the space between the inside casters and the outside "edge" wheels. get on your hands and knees and push the bord, with your hands, up the ramps and notice how, depending on the steepness/attack angle of the ramp, the two front edge wheels will touch the ramp as you approach(& the two back edges the ground), this is fine if your going straight.... not so much in a slide.... going over a roller? now its just the two inside wheels touching the roller and no edges, again maybe fine straight...... not at all in a slide :P

notice alot of skatepark freebord tricks are one hit wonders, you won't see anyone pumping bowls for a half hour like you can on a regular skate deck.

the snowboard terrain park would be useless were it flat.

that said, you gotta have some multilevel parking garages to play in yea?
    Last edited by skiskask8; 04-13-2016 at 03:44 PM.